Becoming a Better Version of Myself: A reflection on Housley

3 Dec

Housley
Growing up, I was outgoing in certain situations and painfully shy in others. I lacked confidence and never envisioned myself as a leader. I thought a leader was a specific type of person: controlling, loud, and forceful. I could never be that. So, at times I was scared to voice my opinion and would step back because I was afraid of failing.

Going to college, I become more myself and liked the person I was becoming. I found that with confidence came success. I look back now and think about all of the activities and organizations I could have been a part of if I hadn’t been scared.

I now understand that there are different types of leaders. For me, being a leader is not about commanding, but showing others it can be done. I feel my leadership style is about relating to others, shedding light on the potential I see in them and helping them bring it out. As an officer for University Ambassadors, I feel myself learning so much and growing each semester. Working with the other members and helping them grow as leaders has been an experience I cherish.

One of my favorite discussions in the Housley Principled Leadership Program this semester covered the type of people you surround yourself with: “You become the average of the people you surround yourself with.” Finding people who are successful in the way you want to be successful helps you become a better version of yourself. This idea is one of my biggest takeaways from my time during Housley, and I’m very grateful for the experience.

Applications for the Spring 2015 Housley Class are due Dec. 7th at midnight. Apply here! .

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

10533122_10152544119781242_5374467691768736007_n

 

Spring, Texas native Brittany Green is majoring in Mass Communication and Spanish at Texas State University. Brittany is a recent alumna of Housley and recipient of the $1,500 Kevin Housley Principled Leadership Scholarship. 

Leave a Reply

