Get a Mentor. NOW.

18 Jan

Less than 12% of students take the time to get to know their professors.

Even less than that approach a faculty, staff or community member and ask them to be their mentor.

I mean formally approach them and say, “I’ve noticed the way you’ve lived your life and I admire it. I believe many things I’m hoping to accomplish align with the direction you’ve taken. Would you mind meeting with me for coffee/breakfast/lunch every two weeks so I can check in with you to receive advice and guidance?”

You do this and the entire trajectory of your life will change. Doors will open. Wisdom will flood into your brain.

Once you get a mentor, you need to get a mentee. I guarantee you there’s an organization at your university willing to connect you with a younger student. I guarantee you there’s an organization in town happy put you in touch with a family or school.

People change because of relationships. Take the time and find someone to invest into you and find someone to invest in.

For crying out loud, January is national mentoring month! Get after it!

Let us know how we can help.

Leave a Reply

